Design a site like this with
Get started

SIG Officers

Committee (2018-2020)

  • Founding Chair – Dr. Krishna Bista (2018-2020)
  • Chair-Elect – Dr. Uttam Gaulee (2018-2020)
  • SIG Book Project Editor – Dr. Chris R. Glass (2019-2021)
  • Treasurer –Dr. Sarah Asada, Kyoritsu Women’s University, Japan (2019-2021)
  • Secretary –Dr. Baoyan Cheng (2018-2020)
  • Janet Gao, Mentorship Committee Chair (2018-2020)
  • SIG Conference Program Chair – Dr. Rosalind L. Raby/Dr. Chris R. Glass
    • Marguerite Dennis – Proposal Review Committee Member

Are you interested in reviewing conference proposal for CIES Study Abroad and International Students SIG? Please fill out this brief form

  • Awards Committee Chair (2018-2020)
    • Co-Chair – Roy Y. Chan, Indiana University Bloomington
    • Co-Chair – Ryan M. Allen, Chapman University
    • Member- Garett Gietzen, University of California, Merced
    • Member- David Lausch, University of Wyoming
    • Member- Jason Li, Wichita State University
    • Member- Cody J Perry, University of Wyoming
    • Member- Michelle Morais  Silva, University of Oklahoma
    • Member, Yanjuan Hu, Southwest University in China
    • Member, Stephanie Kim, Georgetown University

We are accepting SIG Officers nominations for the 2019-2020 CIES Study Abroad and International Students SIG. Please share this links with your colleagues and students interested in comparative and international education. Due:

  • Associate Editors
    • Helen Forbes-Mewett, Monash University
    • Yi Leaf Zhang, University of Texas at Arlington
    • Padam Chauhan, Minnesota State University
    • Prashanti Chennamsetti, Texas A & M University
    • Lisa Piasecki, Tiffin University
    • Enakshi Sengupta, The American University of Kurdistan
    • Rosalyn Eder, University of Fribourg
    • Rebekah Granger Ellis, University of New Orleans
    • Ryan M. Allen, Teachers College, Columbia University
  • Communication Chair —Jianhui Zhang , University of Hawaii at Manoa
    • Olga Mun, IOE University College of London
    • M.O. Thirunarayanan, Florida International University
  •  Membership Director — OPEN
  • Webinar/Social Media Coordinator (doc) —Emily Schell, Stanford University
    • Member- Shyam Sharma, Stony Brook University, USA
    • Member -Janet Gao, The George Washington University, USA
    • Member- Yue Dang, The University of Akron, USA
  • Historian — L. Erika Saito, Pepperdine University, CA
  • Student Representative — OPEN
    • Suzan Kommers, University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA (Director)
    • Ahmed M. Mukhtar, University of Missouri, USA
    • Taylor Woodman, University of Maryland
    • Courtney Belmonte, Old Dominion University
    • Tosin Adebayo, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
    • William Geibel, UCLA
    • Emily Schell, Stanford University
    • Manca Sustarsic, University of Hawaii at Manoa
    • Jianhui Zhang, University of Hawaii, Manoa
    • Santiago Castiello-Gutierrez, University of Arizona (Active)
    • Natalie Cruz, Old Dominion University
  • University Associate– OPEN
    • Kandy K. Turner, Ed.D., Director of International Student Services and Programs, Widener, University, PA, USA
    • Kelly A. Pengelly, Maryland USA
    • Mutiara Mohamad, Director, PLCPA, Fairleigh Dickinson University, New Jersey, USA
    • Jay R. Ligon, Director of International Student and Scholars Services at Louisiana Tech University, USA
    • Lili Yang, the University of Oxford, UK
  • Country Coordinators — OPEN
    • Ireland, Holly Cowman, Mary Immaculate College, Limerick, Ireland
    • Nepal – Pitambar Acharya, Tribhuvan University
    • ________ Shahrman Khattak, University of Toronto
    • India– Ashwini Tiwari, University of Houston-Downtown
    • New Zealand–Sherrie Lee, University of Waikato (Regional Director)
    • ________ Lillian Butungi Niwagaba, New York Institute of Technology
    • Taiwan, Chia-Ming, Hsueh, Boston College
    • China — Xiaoli Jing, McGill University
    • Honduras–Ricardo Morales-Ulloa, Universidad Nacional Francisco Morazn
    • ________ Aisi Li, Nazarbayev University
    • ________ VernicaGottau, Universidad de San Andres
    • Nepal–Yadu Prasad Gyawali, Mid-Western University
    • Iraq –Enakshi Sengupta, The American University of Kurdistan
  • Research Director – Jeevan Khanal, Nepal Open University
  • Research Assistant, Werede Tareke, Central China Normal University, China

SIG Legal Advisor

Previous Officers of this Special Interest Group:

  • Founding SIG Chair (2017-2019) – Dr. Krishna Bista, Morgan State University, USA
  • Founding Treasurer (2017-2019) – Ms. Manca Sustarsic, University of Hawaii, USA

For 2021-2023

The Election Committee (EC) accepts nominations/self-nominations from the existing members of the SIG. Current openings:

The approximate time commitment for this role is approximately 3-5 hours per month. The detailed description is attached.  
We are supposed to finalize the process and complete the elections by May 6. Thus, we propose the following timeline to collect the nominations and conduct the elections: 
April 6: EC announces the call for nominations  April 13: Deadline to submit nominationsApril 15: EC contacts nominees to inform them about their nomination April 26: Agreeing nominees submit brief nomination statements (<100 words) describing their vision for the SIG  April 27: EC makes the voting live  May 5: The voting closes at 11:59 pmMay 6: EC reports the election results    

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close